April 1, 2019

Restraint Reduction Network Training Standards Launched

The 1st April 2019 saw the launch of the new Restraint Reduction Network Training Standards for training services delivered to education, health and social care services that support people with autism, learning disabilities, dementia and mental health conditions across the UK.

Commissioned by the NHS, the Restraint Reduction Network Training Standards 2019 are intended to provide a national benchmark for training in supporting people who are distressed in education, health and social care settings.

Maybo, as one of the first training organisations involved in the Restraint Reduction Network (RRN) and Positive and Safe Champions Networks, welcomes the new RRN Training Standards. We are now working with BILD ACT (Association of Certified Training) towards certification of our training as complying with the Restraint Reduction Network (RRN) Training Standards (2019). Certification does not 'go live' until the start of October and will be a requirement from April 2020. We are on target to be one of the first organisations to gain certification ready for the 1st October. 

Maybo is committed to helping services deliver positive outcomes and welcomes these new standards that keep the focus on reducing restrictive practices. We are pleased the standards embrace a person-centred, human rights approach to restrictive interventions which is consistent with our beliefs and training approach.

Why are the new standards being introduced?

The standards seek to ensure that training is directly related and proportional to the needs of different services and individual people they support. The focus is on balanced training with a focus on prevention above intervention, delivered in a professional manner by suitably experienced trainers.

Used in an accredited certification scheme, these Standards aim to reduce the number of times restraint is required and help to make those occasions that restraint is unavoidable safer and more dignified. 

In addition to improving training and practice, the standards seek to: 

  • protect people’s fundamental human rights and promote person-centred, best interest and therapeutic approaches to supporting people when they are distressed 
  • improve the quality of life of those being restrained and those supporting them 
  • reduce reliance on restrictive practices by promoting positive culture and practice that focuses on prevention, de-escalation and reflective practice 
  • increase understanding of the root causes of behaviour and recognition that many behaviours are the result of distress due to unmet needs 
  • where required, focus on the safest and most dignified use of restrictive interventions including physical restraint 

Who are the standards for?

The standards can be applied to training provision where restrictive interventions are included in the curriculum in: 

  • education, health and social care 
  • children and adult services 
  • the UK and internationally 
  • services for people with mental health conditions, dementia, learning disabilities and autistic people 

The standards can apply to all training providers, including: 

  • Commercial training providers who deliver training to a range of organisations 
  • In-service training provision 

What do the standards mean for service providers? 

Health Education England has worked with the RRN and UKAS to develop a process for certifying training with a view to all providers of NHS funded mental health, learning disability and autism services being required to use accredited training services. In addition, local authority commissioners intend to make UKAS accredited training services a requirement of social care contracts. 

The Standards will also be mandatory for all training with a restrictive intervention component that is delivered to NHS-commissioned services for people with mental health conditions, learning disabilities, autistic people and people living with dementia in England. Implementation will be via commissioning requirements and inspection frameworks from April 2020. This includes services in the independent private and voluntary sectors. 

In addition, local authority commissioners intend to make UKAS accredited training services a requirement of social care contracts. 

What do the standards mean for commissioners of Maybo training?

This new accreditation scheme will replace the existing BILD Physical Intervention Accreditation Scheme (PIAS) under which Maybo has held accreditation for over a decade. Maybo was one of the first training providers to sign up to the RRN in 2016 and is now engaged with the RRN certification process under the new standards and we are on target to be one of the first organisations to gain certification ready for the 1st October 2019. 

The standards set out clear responsibilities for training providers and for services adopting our training. They are full of excellent guidance on the delivery of training and its transfer to practice, ensuring we all play our part in delivering positive and safer outcomes.

There are aspects of the guidance that will have significant cost implications for organisations, much of which is necessary and understandable. They are not perfect, however, and include some arbitrary stipulations on trainer-learner ratio’s that will be costly for already stretched services, with no benefit to the people they serve.

Overall, another welcome and positive step in creating positive and safer services and improving outcomes. Well done to all those involved in delivering this substantial and important initiative. 

Where I can learn more?

The RRN Standards can be downloaded here

Further information is available on the Restraint Reduction Network Website

Service providers seeking training services certified as complying with the RRN Training Standards can contact Maybo

Maybo will contact each organisation it already supports to help them understand and implement the new standards.